Miruna Codeanu

Guinness, not a case study

In Uncategorized on September 8, 2015 at 7:31 am

On a wall in my office, among other quotes: “If you wait until there is another case study in your industry, you will be too late”. Most marketers would probably agree, but they also know that obtaining the budget for something that is not a case study is handwork.

Let’s talk about bold moves. Beer is for alpha males, that’s the traditional positioning, right? Alpha males that play/watch football, are somewhat misogynistic, beer is usually for them. Beer is not for dapper men. They drink wine, usually. I would have never seen a beer brand associated with homosexuality. But they’ve done it. And it’s chapeau tout bas, Guinness. Here it is, one of the first ads talking about homosexuality. It was 1995:

And 20 years later:

Here is the monologue from the commercial: “Every impact. Every ribb cracked. Every bone broken. That was nothing compared to the demons tearing me apart. In my darkest hour I turn to my team mates. Telling them I was gay, was the toughest part I’ve ever done. When I needed the most, they were there for me.”

Guinness has the credit for some awards for their pieces of advertising, but however, this goes beyond advertising, this is somewhat a twist in the company’s philosophy, in the positioning of beer brands and, in the collective mentality. Because, I’ve always said it, marketing can change the world.

Leave a Reply

